top of page

The objectives of language entail not merely a means to communicate but also to share ideas, thoughts and emotions clearly and cogently.

The department of Languages at the Lawrence School, Lovedale aims to arm students with effective communication skills in various languages. Most Indian students are inherently bilingual, or in many cases, multilingual. Their ability to switch effortlessly between different languages with different rules of grammar and sentence formation makes our job of creating global citizens all the more easy.  We aim to hone their skills in their own mother tongue, the official languages of the country as well as a foreign languages, should they be interested.



Tamil is a Dravidian language spoken predominantly by Tamil people of South India and North-east Sri Lanka. It has official status in the Indian states of Tamil Nadu, Puducherry and Andaman and Nicobar Islands. Tamil is also a national language of Sri Lanka and an official language of Singapore and Mauritius.


Faculty Members:


Ms. Kavita Mathan

Mr. Saravanan




Malayalam is a language spoken in India, predominantly in the state of Kerala. It is one of the 22 scheduled languages of India. Malayalam has official language status in the state of Kerala and in the union territories of Lakshadweep and Puducherry. It belongs to the Dravidian family of languages, and is spoken approximately by 33 million people according to the 2001 census.


Faculty Members:


Ms. Annamma Thomas



French is a Romance language spoken as a first language in France, the Romandy region in Switzerland, Wallonia and Brussels in Belgium, Monaco, the provinces of Quebec and New Brunswick (Acadia region) in Canada and the U.S.

Other speakers of French often speak it as a second language. In India, it is still spoken in the former French Colony of Pondicherry.​

Faculty Members:

Ms. Renu Pandey (HOD Language)

Ms. Arundhati Mohanty

Ms. Gayatri




Hindi is a standardised and sanskritised register of the Hindustani language. Hindustani is the native language of people living in Delhi, Haryana, Western Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, northeastern Madhya Pradesh, and parts of eastern Rajasthan. Hindi is one of the official languages of India.


Faculty Members:


Mrs. Veena Kaushik

Mr. Harsh Narayan Pandey

Mr. Adya Shankar Pandey

Dr. Sanjay Sharma




Sanskrit is a historical Indo-Aryan language, the primary liturgical language of Hinduism and a literary and scholarly language in Buddhism and Jainism. Today, it is listed as one of the 22 scheduled languages of India and is an official language of the state of Uttarakhand. Sanskrit holds a prominent position in Indo-European studies.


Faculty Members:

Mrs. Veena Kaushik


bottom of page